News and Events

DEA Contributes Changes to National Standard Plumbing Code

Ontario, Calif. (April 10, 2017) — The Dispensing Equipment Alliance (DEA), comprised of the leading manufacturers in the dispensing equipment industry, has contributed new language to the 2018 National Standard Plumbing Code (NSPC) to provide a clear method of installing chemical dispensers.

Volunteers from DEA member companies sitting on the DEA Code Committee reviewed the 2015 NSPC and recommended the additional language, citing the importance of protecting Atmospheric Vacuum Breaker backflow devices on faucets. Language was drafted and submitted to the NSPC requiring a new standard, IAPMO PS-104, that requires a pressure bleed device to be installed on the faucet, thus protecting the backflow device.

“Protecting our drinking water is a primary goal, really a core value, of the DEA,” said Jamison Kortas, a member of the DEA’s Executive Steering Committee. “The DEA is providing leadership for the industry to protect our most precious resources, along with providing guidance on how best to install and maintain chemical dispensers.

“The DEA has been attempting to work with all model plumbing code organizations to ensure the language in the codes pertaining to the dispensing industry is up-to-date with the latest technology. The DEA continues to work to develop and utilize standard language that has input from all interested parties and looks at all facets of the installation codes to meets the needs of everyone.”

The National Association of Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors (NAPHCC) NSPC Code Committee met on March 9 to review proposed changes to the 2018 NSPC and voted unanimously to approve the language submitted by the DEA.

“The inclusion of these provisions will serve all people well, including the dispensing equipment industry, the facility owners, the Inspection community and particularly the end user,” Kortas said. “The DEA is very proud of this achievement!”

The DEA has been diligently working with the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO) and ASSE International to provide the highest level of safety and performance in equipment and installations. The NSPC has been developed and published by NAPHCC since 1933.

In the recent past, the DEA has similarly submitted language to the Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC®), the most widely utilized plumbing code in the world, and to the Massachusetts Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters. 

Upcoming Meetings:

Executive Steering Committee Meetings

September 17, 2015 beginning Noon, Eastern/11am, Central/10am, Mountain/9am, Pacific

October 20th, 2015 - In Las Vegas, beginning at 9am

November 19, 2015 beginning Noon, Eastern/11am, Central/10am, Mountain/9am, Pacific

December 17, 2015 beginning Noon, Eastern/11am, Central/10am, Mountain/9am, Pacific

Code Committee

First week of the month on Tuesday – Beginning at 3pm, Eastern/2pm, Central/1pm, Mountain/Noon, Pacific

Education Committee

Second week of the month on Tuesday – Beginning at 3pm, Eastern/2pm, Central/1pm, Mountain/Noon, Pacific

Membership Committee

First week of the month on Thursday – Beginning at 11am, Eastern/10am, central/9am, Mountain/8am Pacific

Committee schedules may change due to conflicts, please contact staff to verify dates and times.

FOLLOW US