ASSE Elects New Board of Directors and Presents 2018 Awards

Posted 25 Oct 2023
Tagged on ASSE
ASSE Elects New Board of Directors and Presents 2018 Awards

On October 18, members of ASSE International elected John A. Parizek (Minnesota Chapter) as International President at the Business Session / Awards Ceremony of the 2018 ASSE International Annual Meeting in Ft. Lauderdale. Parizek succeeds Dana A Colombo, who served as International President for the last two years.

International President Parizek has been a member of ASSE since 2006. A licensed master plumber in Minnesota, he is employed as the Training Coordinator for the Minneapolis Plumbers Journeyman and Apprentice Training Program. He is certified as an ASSE 6050 Medical Gas Instructor, an ASSE 5110 and 5130 Backflow Instructor, a mine safety instructor through the U.S. Department of Labor, Mine Safety and Health Administration, and a continuing education instructor through the State of Minnesota. The Plumbing, Heating, Cooling Contractors (PHCC) National Education Foundation named Parizek the 2012 Plumbing Instructor of the Year, IAPMO recognized him as the 2017 Industry Person of the Year, and ASSE International awarded him the Patrick J. Higgins Award in 2017. Parizek served on the Minnesota State Plumbing Board from 2007 – 2018.

The outgoing Board members include Region 4 Director Paul Baker, Region 5 Director Joseph Kajak, and Immediate Past President Douglas Marian – thank you for your years of service to ASSE International and its members.

Congratulations to the newly elected Board members, Region 4 Director Donald Summers and Region 5 Director Joseph Fernandez; re-elected Board members, Region 3 Director Debbie Vukovich and Treasurer John Flader; and returning Board member, but in a new role, International Vice President Jason Shank.

Below is the complete list of the 2018 – 2019 ASSE International Board of Directors:

President, John Parizek
Vice President, Jason Shank
Immediate Past President, Dana Colombo
Treasurer, John F. Flader
Region 1 Director – West, Jaime Valdivia
Region 2 Director – North Central, Vincent Gallo
Region 3 Director – South Central, Debbie Vukovich
Region 4 Director – Mid-West, Donald R. Summers, Jr.
Region 5 Director – South East, Joseph Fernandez
Region 7 Director – North East, Matthew King
Region 8 Director – At-Large, Daniel Rademacher
Manufacturers’ Representative, John F. Higdon, P.E.

Congratulations are also in order for the 2018 ASSE International Annual Awards recipients. See below for the full list of award winners.

Salvatore J. Farruggia Presidential Award
Recipient is chosen by the outgoing International President, and presented to an individual who has contributed to the success of that President’s term in office.
Winner: Jaime Valdivia

Most New Members by a Chapter
Presented to the chapter with the most new members.
Winner: New York Chapter

Best Media Presence
Presented to the chapter with the most outstanding newsletter and the best website.
Winner: New York Chapter

Dewey R. Dedrick Jr. Award
Chosen by the Board of Directors and presented to a chapter for outstanding performance.
Winner: Florida Chapter

Patrick J. Higgins Award
Presented to an individuals who demonstrates knowledge and support of voluntary, consensus standards and their adoption into code.
Winner: Brianne Hall

Rand Ackroyd Award
Presented to an individual who has expressed a thorough knowledge and true dedication to the ASSE backflow program, or the backflow and associated industry by their efforts in protecting our drinking water through cross-connection control and education.
Winner: Donald R. Summers, Jr.

Fellow (FASSE) Awards
Presented to members for their dedication and service to the society.
Winners: Gary Bittner, Jim Finley, and John Higdon

Recognition Award
For meritorious and commendable service, ASSE recognizes the many years of support in promoting the recognition of members who have selflessly contributed to the society by giving their time and knowledge.
Winner: Dick Morin

Henry B. Davis Award
The Henry B. Davis Award is an annual merit award presented to a member who has contributed the most toward the advancement of sanitary engineering in accord with the ideals of the Society.
Winner: Joe Kajak