Industry Person of the Year

The Industry Person of the Year is awarded to an individual who has served with selfless dedication to the industry they represent, the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials, and mankind by their untiring efforts to ensure safety for people through the adoption and use of the Uniform Codes.

This award will be presented during IAPMO’s Annual Education and Business Conference.  

Previous recipients:

2023    Josh Hollub, PHCC Gulf Coast Chapter

2022     Ray Levangie, United Association District Council 16

2021     Richard Lord, Plumbers Local Union 68

2020     **Virtual Conference**

2019     Chris Haslinger, United Association

2018     Randy Lorge, Local 400 Plumbers and Steamfitters; Shawano, WI

2017     John Parizek, Plumbers Local 15

2016     TJ Dodd, Pipe Trades

2015     CJ Lagan, American Standard

2014     Dan Rademacher, Consultant

2013     Mike Massey, NITC, Los Angeles, CA

2012     Larry Facer, Local 348,Ogden, UT

2011     Dave Mann, Local 342,Concord, CA

2010     Mike Wynne, Local 290, Portland, OR

2009     AprilTrafton, Donald F. Dickerson Assoc., Inc., VanNuys, CA

2008     Herbert Kaopua, Business Manager – Local 675, Honolulu, HI

2007     Kurt Steenhoek, Business Manager – Local3, Denver, CO

2006     Sid Stolper, Southern California Pipe Trades, Los Angeles, CA

2005     Mary Garvelink, Commercial Design Engineering, Colorado Springs, CO

2004     Philip Campbell, Las Vegas JATC, Las Vegas, NV

2003     Diana Corcoran, American Society of Sanitary Engineering, Westlake, OH

2002     Thomas A. Montaño, UA Local 412, Albuquerque, NM

2001     **Conference Canceled**

2000     George Bliss III, United Association

1999     Bill Levan, Cast Iron Soil Pipe Institute

1998     Scott Strawbridge, MCA of Northern California

1997     Gary Wright, Business Manager, Local 290, Portland, OR

            Carl Triphahn, Executive Director, PIPE, Phoenix, AZ

            Stanley Brier, Texas State Plumbing Board, Austin, TX

1996     Rand Ackroyd, Watts Regulator

1995     Brian Garvey, Mechanical Contractors Association of America

1994     Ron Ridenour, PIPE

1993     Pat Higgins, P.J. Higgins & Associates

1992     John Gorman, California Pipe Trades Council

1991     Jim Sargent, Kohler Company

1990     Don Logsdon, LSP-Specialty Products, Yucaipa, CA

1989     Paul Kulonis, PHC Designs, Inc.

1988     Tony Scarano, Plastic Piping Consultant

1987     Gene Povalski, Kohler Company

1986     Allen Weidman, American Gas Association, Inc.

1985     Charlie Hall, Charlie J. Hall & Associates, Inc., Garland, TX

1984     Claude Bergman, California Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors

1983     Ed Evans, Utah Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials

1982     Ed Saltzberg, Edward Saltzberg & Associates, Inc., Garland, TX

1981     George Kauffman, North Hollywood Plumbing Contractor, CA

1980     Don Boro, University Mechanical, Seattle, WA

1979     George T. Rochford, Jr., American Iron and Steel Institute, Washington DC

1978     Bill Veliquette, Mission Clay Products

1977     John Gorman, Cast Soil Pipe Institute

1976     Manley Hendricks, Tyler Pipe

1975     Bob Hester, Southern California Gas Company

1974     Stanley Gerrard, Mechanical Contractors of Washington

1973     Carl Linde

1972     Dan Simmons

1971     Ted Hillers, AC &I Associates

1970     Fred Lindsey

1969     George N. Lavenberg, Ceramic Tile Institute

1968     Raymond J. Brown, Copper Development Association

1967     George Kauffman, Kauffman Plumbing, North Hollywood,CA

1966     Ed Beale, Compotite Shower Pan Company

1965     George Kauffman, Kauffman Plumbing

1964     Elmer Renz, Safeway Plumbing, CA

1963     Bill Coffey, Copper Development

1962     Mark Gray, Association Plumbing and Heating Contractors of Washington

1961     Jack Wilson, Johns-Manville

1960     ?